Binge Reading?

Since Friday evening….

Gene Stratton-Porter, A Girl Of the Limberlost

Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Breaking my “rule” about books about book clubs and sewing circles and knitting societies…this book is nothing like the typical, Jane Austen Book Club-type one of those. Instead, it’s a lyrically written novel with a charming, sweet, wholesome story about endearing and wonderfully good characters. Oh, and I SO want to get well and travel to Guernsey!)

Edith Nesbit, The Enchanted Castle (revisiting childhood courtesy of Girlebooks.)

Jean Webster, Dear Enemy (I loved Daddy-Long-Legs as a little girl and never knew it had a sequel! The romance, of course, is entirely obvious from the beginning, but it’s still a fun story!)

Catherine Asaro, Sunrise Alley (Which one of these things is not quite like the others?)

Jaclyn Moriarty, The Life Murder of Bindy MacKenzie (One of my favorite YA books! Clever, amusing, and well written.)

Jean Webster, Daddy-Long-Legs (Well, I had to follow up with a return to the original, didn’t I?)

Plus the first half of Louisa May Alcott’s Eight Cousins and Paul Strathern’s The Artist, the Philosopher, and the Warrior.

I do this sometimes: I binge read. Others binge drink or binge eat (no disrespect intended to the seriousness of those conditions.) I consume book after book in ridiculous quantities. The crazy thing? This was really only a sort of borderline episode — I’ll sometimes literally not move while devouring book after book immediately after another, doing little else. (Those tended to occur at the end of a stressful semester.) This weekend, I actually spent quite a bit of time listening to audiobooks, crocheting, watching TV, listening to music, talking with my parents, dealing with medical stuff, etc.

I fully recognize I’m a little bit strange….

I’ve also crocheted three scarves this week. Much better than sitting around and being miserable, right? 🙂 Cause, yeah, this weekend? Nothing down by mouth. Difficulty tolerating the tube feeding, including experiencing the joys of “dumping syndrome-like effects.” (Look it up. It sucks.) Having every single listed side effect of my medicine except constipation and anaphylactic shock (but including heart papitations.) Throwing up stomach juices after bolusing water into my small intestine. BUT I’ve been able to read lots of lovely books! 🙂

I’ve stocked up on some audiobooks from the library for the upcoming drives to and from San Francisco: Macbeth, Huck Finn, and Journey to the Center of the Earth. Radio gets tiresome when you’re doing this many drives.

Oh and the good news: in addition to my appointment on Tuesday with Dr. Shetler (neurogastroenterologist), I got in to see the neurologist she recommended! I’ll be seeing him(?) two hours after my appointment with her! It should be a good day — answers from the Electrogastrogram last week and a real start on figuring out my paralysis attacks!

5 thoughts on “Binge Reading?

  1. You were busy! As a child, I loved Dear Enemy even more than Daddy-Long-Legs and I certainly read it far more often. It has been a while since my last reread but I already have it loaded on my ereader, waiting for me. And I am so pleased to hear you loved The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; it is a very sweet book.

  2. I want to go to Guernsey too! (And then Jersey, to see Gerald Durrell’s zoo.) I did enjoy that book. I was quite surprised much later when I finally realized that my little girl’s favorite Ivy and Bean books are by the same Annie Barrows–and I *met* her last spring and didn’t even know that I should tell her how much I liked the Guernsey book.

    I do love E. Nesbit. I was very lucky as a kid–my mom had most of her books in red-bound hardbacks that she had ordered from England for a grad school project. They were almost unknown in the US until I was a bit older.

  3. Love that you are getting some positives out of this challenging time for you. Binge reading sounds like my kind of sport. And I can’t believe you crocheted 3 scarves! That is so fast. It took me over 6 months to do a baby blanket that came out much smaller then I intended.

  4. Pingback: So Much to Be Thankful For | Whimsical Desperation

Leave a Reply

