Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

After a few rounds of testing, more testing, trials, and more trials, I don’t seem to be gluten intolerant. Blood tests and biopsies from my endoscopy cleared me for celiac’s disease and if I have any kind of non-celiac gluten sensitivity, it is both not what is causing my current problems and much less than any number of other sensitivities I have. For the most part, my stomach seems to do best with rice, then wheat and buckwheat, and then not so well with other grains/starches/carbs. I’m eating some wheat again, but I have a few recipes and products from my experience of going gluten free that I love and plan to keep in my diet.

These cookies are definitely one of them. Provided I can eat chocolate again, which I currently can’t. (I’d better be able to eat chocolate again. I mean, it’s chocolate.)

Personally, I think these are the perfect allergy-friendly cookie. They’re not just gluten free, but also egg free, soy free, dairy free, casein free, and lactose free. As far as I understand – always do your own research if you have allergies and sensitivities – they should be appropriate for a gluten free, casein free (gfcf) diet. They’re nut free and peanut free and low in refined sugars. I think you could make them (cane) sugar free as well pretty easily, a la Kelsi, if you used a chocolate otherwise sweetened. (Trader Joe’s carries one made with honey!) They’re actually grain free, of all things – buckwheat is a seed and a pseudo-grain, not a true seed. (Hmm, I wonder if they could potentially be kosher for Passover, then? They sure taste a lot better than the Kosher for Passover cookies I’ve had from packages!) Plus, they’re made with buckwheat, which packs quite the nutritional punch. I think this is a great recipe to introduce people to buckwheat with, as the cookies don’t have as strong of a buckwheat flavor (some love it, some hate it) as crepes or pizza dough.

This basically a de-glutened version of Live. Learn. Love. Eat’s  cookie dough recipe here.  She calls them mini cookies, but I think of them as pretty standard home-made cookies in terms of size – of course, I didn’t eat just one.

Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes 36 cookies.

Dry ingredients:

2 cups buckwheat flour (I used Arrowhead Mills organic)

1.5 teaspoons baking soda

½ Teaspoon sea salt

¾ cup vegan chocolate chips or chocolate chunks (I used Trader Joe’s chocolate chips)

Wet ingredients:

¾ cup maple syrup

2/3 cup canola oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix the buckwheat flour, baking soda, and salt. I used a silicone spoon (good for avoiding gluten cross contamination!) but a wooden spoon would work as well; this recipe mixes easily without an electric mixer, if you’re short on one. Mix in the canola oil, maple syrup, and vanilla until combined. Add the chocolate chips. The dough will be darker than typical chocolate chip cookie dough.

Drop 36 portions onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. A melon baller makes for the perfect size. These cookies do not naturally flatten as much cookies with wheat flour; either press down or enjoy puffier.

Bake for 6-8 minutes or until done. Color is less of a guide than with wheat, as buckwheat is darker, so consider checking with a tooth pick. Allow to cool and enjoy!

(I’m sorry I don’t have pictures of the completed cookies. I didn’t take any when I made these before and I’m not going to torture myself with chocolate chips to get some.)

***

Finished American Studies. Almost finished with An Infamous Army. Started reading Malcolm Cowley, Exile’s Return. Had quite the day today — there’ll be a story tomorrow or the next day.

8 thoughts on “Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

    • Oops, I meant on your farmer’s market post! But it’s great to find a new recipe for gluten-free chocolate chip cookies! Trader Joe’s makes amazing chocolate chips, and they make a great topping to vegan, gluten-free peanut butter pie. I’ll find the recipe and let you know!

      • Haha, no problem! I looove TJ’s chocolate chips and that recipe sounds like a great one to have on hand for when I can eat chocolate again. (Which is a when, not an if — it has to be!)

  1. Pingback: Concession Sweets | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

