Library Loot 8/22/12

Library Loot is a weekly event co-hosted by Claire fromThe Captive Reader and Marg from The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader that encourages bloggers to share the books they’ve checked out from the library. If you’d like to participate, just write up your post-feel free to steal the button-and link it using the Mr. Linky any time during the week. And of course check out what other participants are getting from their libraries.

Georgette Heyer, An Infamous Army

I’m halfway through this one. Love, love, love it so far. I think it’s going to be one of my favorite Heyer’s — right up with Regency Buck. I’m going to have to try some more of her more meticulously historical fiction.

Christopher Isherwood, Berlin Stories

Goodbye to Berlin is one of my all-time favorite books. I wrote about it some as a guest blogger on another blog. I picked up this edition for his other Berlin story, The Last of Mr. Norris. I have high hopes!

Jo Walton, The King’s Peace

I have a bit more trepidation about this selection. I’ve recently fallen pretty hard for Jo Walton’s writing, but I often find it difficult to get into high fantasy series.

Louis Menard, The Metaphysical Club

This is for a class I’m taking locally. (I’ve got to keep my mind sharp!)

Louis Menard, American Studies

Ditto. I’ve read the first three essays (it’s a collection) and they’re enthralling so far. Reading about reading is definitely right up my alley.

***

In other news, I’d just like to say how much I appreciate the outpouring of support I’ve received in the wake of yesterday’s post. The words of support and inspiration people have passed on through Facebook, email, and so forth have meant the world to me. I had a doctor’s appointment this morning and my doctor commented on how I seem to be in much better spirits than when she saw me a week and a half ago. I think some of that stems from stopping a medication with cognitive side effects, and some of it from receiving more nutrition via the tube, but a big part comes from the incredible support I’ve received in the last few days since “coming out” about my illness. Thank you. ❤

Yesterday was a Good Day. I have them on a pretty regular basis, if not often enough. I was able to eat!

Brown rice pasta with tomato sauce and lean ground beef; steamed summer squash from the farmer’s market; melon from the farmer’s market; water with a straw (easier to drink that way with the tube.) I’m not gluten free anymore (lots of experimenting to find it wasn’t the problem), but I am eating more rice and less wheat if only because rice is more easily digested in the stomach.

Last night was rough and early this morning was rougher, but I seem to be over that bad spell. Fingers crossed I’ll get the rest of the day (and more) clear!

 

10 thoughts on “Library Loot 8/22/12

  1. OMG! I’m getting Infamous Army right now this moment, I love love love Heyer and Regency Buck is one of my fave Heyer novels so I’m sure I’ll love this one 🙂

  2. That’s a great library stack 🙂 I also enjoy historical fiction if it’s well researched and legit 🙂 I do believe this is my first visit to your blog, I’m off to poke around here for a bit!

  3. I had to look up Goodbye to Berlin on GR, but it really does sound good, so yes, there’s one more addition to my ever-expanding to-read list 😉 It’s my first time here, so I don’t know you… but I am sorry to hear about your illness, yet glad that you have good days as well. Here’s to many more good days with healthy, tasty food that your stomach agrees to!

Leave a Reply

